How Much Does It Cost To Live In Milan As A Single Person?

Breaking down my monthly expenses as a Californian in Milano.

Stef
4 min readAug 26, 2023
High-rise buildings line Milan’s skyline, visible from the Porta Garibaldi public park.
Photo of Milan’s modern Porta Garibaldi district. Photo taken by author.

You can read this article for free at layoverinitaly.com.

From Oslo, Norway to Milan, Italy, the year of 2022 had a lot in store for me.

Oslo is famously known as one of the most expensive cities in Europe, so I didn’t take people seriously when they warned me that Milan was expensive.

I’ll make a salary of €45,000/year and receive Italy’s tax break for new resident workers! There’s no way I’ll be struggling for money.

Well, that was two years and one pay adjustment ago, and I often struggle to save money. Let’s break down my monthly living costs in Milan and figure out why!

What’s The Average Rent In Milan?

I’ll start with Milan’s biggest expense: housing.

You should expect to spend anywhere from €800-€1200 for a monolocale (studio), and €1200-€1800 for a bilocale (one bedroom). A single room in a shared apartment goes for €500-€900, depending on how roughly you’re willing to live or how far from civilization you’ll be.

I did tour a room in Navigli one time that was priced at €450/month, but the bathroom sink was…

--

--

Stef

American emigrant & resident Italian. Read more about what it's like to live and work in Italy at layoverinitaly.com.